Namibian Correctional Service at a Glance

  • The Namibian Correctional Service is established by the Namibian Constitution, Article 121
  • It is a Department that resorts under the Ministry of Safety and Security (Shares the Ministry with the Namibian Police)
  • Headed by a Commissioner-General appointed by Constitution, Article 122
  • Has a National Headquarters in Windhoek
  • Has four (4) Administrative Regions (Central, Southern, North-Western, North-Eastern)
  • Has 13 Correctional Facilities of different levels (level 1=4, level 2=5 and level 3=4)
  • Has one (1) staff training college, the Lucius Sumbwanyambe Mahoto Correctional Service Training College located in Omaruru, Erongo Region

Organogram of the Namibian Correctional Service

NCS Organogram